Mould Inspection - Mould & Air Quality Testing IECLabs.com.au
Consulting services

Mould Inspection

IECL is a professional mould inspection, mould testing company. We are the best choice if you are looking for a commercial mould inspection or a home mould inspection.

  • Mould Testing
  • Mold Inspection
  • Post-Remediation Clearance Testing
  • Mould Detection
  • CIRS protocol inspection and testing
  • Environmental Risk assesments Air Quality Testing and monitoring

Our commitment is to assist you in maintaining a secure and healthful space, whether it’s your home or business. We offer detailed mould assessments with the best trained people in the industry.

We have conducted thousands of mould inspection and water damage inspections including post-remediation verifications in Brisbane and Sydney since 2002. Our goal is to promote a healthy indoor air environment for the building occupants. Out certified mould inspectors have extensive knowledge on several types of mould including black mould, black toxic mould, Stachybotrys, and other moulds.

Our approach to an inspection:

  • Locate the hidden source of mould
  • Accurate mould analysis and mould testing completed by in-house NATA Accredited Lab
  • Locate plumbing leaks
  • Collect indoor/outdoor air and surface samples if needed to determine the mould present as well as exposure levels
  • Professional assessment of issues to help determine the cause of the mould and recommendation on mould remediation works

A fully comprehensive mould assessment may include:

  • Mould exposure assessment
  • Leak detection assessment
  • Surface and airborne mould testing
  • Building materials moisture testing
  • HVAC mould testing and inspection
  • Water Damage Report and Testing for insurance purposes
  • Post Mold Remediation Clearance Inspections and Testing
  • Indoor air quality testing and evaluation
  • Scope of work report to mould remediation protocols and industry standard

get in touch with our consultants

    What our recent clients say about us…

    Jack Chapple
    Jack Chapple
    2023-11-07
    IECL were fantastic from start to finish. Their home test kit was easy to use and the results came back so quickly. I needed a home visit which was thorough, professional and friendly, couldn’t recommend them more.
    T H
    T H
    2023-06-18
    Outstanding knowledge, professionalism, care and dedication. I would not hesitate to recommend this business
    Samuel Pickard
    Samuel Pickard
    2023-01-02
    Fantastic company, extremely professional
    Sue
    Sue
    2022-12-07
    David, the building biologist, carried out a careful, thorough, professional inspection at my property. He answered all my many questions in great detail. I’m very glad I engaged IECL to test my property for mould
    James M
    James M
    2022-10-24
    Fast turnaround and reasonably priced. The service delivery was very professional and helpful.
    Lucy Robinson
    Lucy Robinson
    2022-10-17
    Very thorough with helpful suggestions on improving the air quality in our education environment. Highly recommend.
    Terri Rock
    Terri Rock
    2022-09-12
    Very professional and comprehensive inspection and report. Very pleased with the service, would recommend. Thank you.
    Patrick Moore
    Patrick Moore
    2022-08-29
    Birgit was very thorough with our inspection and the report was comprehensive. She was very professional and was able to help me to understand the process & outcomes. The report came back in a timely manner and the support and information from the admin staff was excellent.
    Sandhya P
    Sandhya P
    2022-07-25
    The IECL team are exceptional. Birgit is a thorough professional and did a great job with the mould inspection at our house. She went above and beyond and took the time to answer all our questions and provide useful and practical tips to deal with the mould. Very happy with the level of service provided by the team.

    Mould Inspection IECL

    IECL is a professional mould inspection, mould testing and mould detection company. We are the best choice if you are looking for a
    commercial mould inspection or a home mould inspection.

    Mould Inspection IECL

    IECL is a professional mould inspection, mould testing and mould detection company. We are the best choice if you are looking for a
    commercial mould inspection or a home mould inspection.

    Mould Inspection Service Areas

    Please see our approximate service areas within Australia. Click on the locations below for more details on what's available near you.

    IECL can travel nation-wide in some circumstances to help our clients, however this may involve adjustments to procedure, pricing and lead times. Please Contact Us (link) and we'd be happy to discuss options.

    Queensland

    • Brisbane
    • Gold Coast
    • Sunshine Coast
    • Toowoomba

    New South Wales

    • Sydney
    • Canberra
    • Newcastle
    • Wooloongong

    Victoria

    • Melbourne

    Our Inspectors

    Birgit Richards

    Grad. Cert. Occupational Hygiene - Building Biologist (IBN) - IICRC Cert. - Water Restoration Technician (WRT) - Applied Microbial Remediation Technician (AMRT)

    David Saunders

    Cert. Mould Consultant (CMC) - IICRC Cert. - Water Restoration Technician (WRT) - Applied Microbial Remediation Technician (AMRT)

    The IECL Difference

    World-class inspection services

    Highly qualifed staff, NATA accredited lab

    Over 20 years experience

    Fully insured company

    Easy-to-read reports, expert consultation

    Mould Inspection Costs

    Pricing for mould inspections are indicative only. Pricing varies according to location, size of property, type of property and extent of mould contamination. When your mould inspector attends, they may recommend mould testing sent to our laboratory.

    Pricing below is only approximate minimum pricing. The below does not include mould testing (samples). Not all jobs will require mould sample testing (air and surface lab samples).

    Queensland

    Brisbane Area: $660
    Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast & Toowoomba: $770

    New South Wales

    Sydney: Pricing starts at $770
    Newcastle, Wollongong, Blue Mountains: $880

    Victoria

    Melbourne: Pricing starts at $770
    Commercial inspections: Commercial inspections also vary considerably. However, you may expect around $900 as a starting point.

    Free Mould Inspections

    There are mould remediation companies on the market which will provide free mould inspections. Please understand that service although our service is not free it will come with the following advantages.

    • Our inspections are unbsiased without a conflict of interest
    • We are not altering our reports in order to increase the quote for the remediation work
    • Our inspection are done by a fully qualified indoor environmental professional
    • You can use our services to write the scope and also check that the job has been done properly at the end of the job. Ensuring accountability from the remediation specialist that the job has been completed successfully to IICRC standards.

    Why Choose Us?

    • Team of Experts in Different areas: Our team includes a civil engineer, remediation specialist, building biologist, and a PhD microbiologist.
    • Credibility: Our team is well-qualified and experienced. Our Lab director Alex has published peer reviewed research articles which you can find
    • Speciality in Mould : We specialize in identifying mould issues, not remediation. However, we can recommend reliable remediation services.
    • Easy to Understand Reports: For homeowners, tenants, and all remediators, it will provide sufficient details for a remediator to offer you a pricing estimate.

    Mould Lab Sample Analysis

    We might suggest additional mould tests if necessary, for example, to check if mould has spread to your HVAC system or to compare indoor and outdoor mould levels. Our expert mould inspectors will recommend when you may require further testing.

    They will recommend either mould surface or air samples to complete. Each of these samples cost $132 each and they will be analysed in our in house NATA accredited mould lab.

    IECL is not a mould remediation company. We do not do any remediation work. We are purely a indoor environmental consulting business. However our reports include a scope which can be used for the mould remediation professional.

    Mould Inspection Sample Report

    We can write a scope of work that provides detailed steps for an accredited mould remediation specialist to follow when completing the mould remediation. The report will include photos of a complete investigation of the property with a mud map outlining the areas with moisture ingress.

    FAQ

    How can I tell if I need a mould inspection?

    The presence of mould growth in your home or workplace is an indicator for damp issues. Signs of mould growth in buildings can range from visible mould on walls, ceilings or any other surface, to musty odours or health symptoms without any visible mould. Moulds are part of the Kingdom of Fungi and rely on moisture to grow on suitable surfaces (almost any surface will do). Organic matter serves as its food source, and in a building this can be as simple as bits of dust. Ongoing damp issues can lead to damage and deterioration of building materials and cause mild to severe health issues.
    The cause for mould growth in a home or building may be easy to identify such as the mould under the silicon seal in bathrooms or, in a more serious situation, a patch on the ceiling after a roof leak for example. In some cases however, the reasons for mould growth may be less obvious, more complex or widespread, and, due to a combination of factors. This is where professional help may be required.

    What is included in the mould inspection

    A professional investigation and inspection of the building and should at minimum include the building history, interview with the occupants in regards to concerns and any relevant health issues, a thorough visual assessment, and testing of moisture in the air and in building materials.
    The assessment and evaluation of air temperature and humidity, dew point and specific humidity is part of the field of psychrometry and allows to determine the risk of mould and microbial growth in buildings. Moisture content in materials can assist in finding out the extent of likely mould growth, risk for hidden growth and should be part of a professional inspection. Moisture testing can be carried out on non-metal surfaces such as concrete, timber, plasterboard, flooring materials, some types of tiles, etc.
    Thermal imaging can be helpful to detect temperature differences caused by leaks, or thermal bridges where condensation is likely to occur. More invasive methods can be used when physical access to areas is limited. The process may include the use of a borescope, which consists of a small camera on a tube and allows to take a look at cavities and voids.
    The information collected during an inspection should be sufficient to establish what steps are necessary to address the issue safely and efficiently, what is required to repair or rectify the cause. Mould sampling may be required to develop a Scope of Works if professional remediation is required. The information obtained during the inspection, as well as findings and recommendations should be provided in a written report.

    When should mould testing be done?

    In some, if not in all cases, testing for mould in the air or on surfaces is necessary to assist in establishing the extent of mould growth or to determine what types of moulds are present. This may be the case where health issues are experienced by the occupants or workers, or where musty odours are present. It may also be required when water or mould damage are associated with insurance claims or for litigation purposes.
    Mould testing can help determine if mould is present, what types of mould are present and in which concentrations. Some types of mould – termed hydrophilic – can indicate water damage, as they required significant amounts of moisture to grow. Indoor concentrations should generally be lower than those found in the surrounding outdoor environment. While there are currently no exposure standards for mould, the results from an inspection and sampling results may assist in ascertaining if a building is safe for occupancy.
    Post Remediation Verification (PRV) testing is conducted after remediation projects to assess if the building has been effectively restored and the presence of mould is comparable to normal background levels such as in the outdoors.

    Our Mould Inspection Report

    Who to engage for a Professional Mould Inspection
    Professionals inspecting homes for mould should have undergone training such as provided by the Institute for Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration Certification (IICRC), as building biologist or occupational hygienist, understand basic principles of building science and should have substantial experience.
    The team at IECL is qualified and experienced in assessing buildings for water damage and mould growth, to conduct mould sampling and develop strategies for appropriate action to address damp issues in residential or commercial buildings.

    Why engage a mould remedation professional

    Mould growth can be caused by many varying factors including ventilation issues, condensation on surfaces, air-conditioning problems, roof or pipe leaks, hidden leaks, structural issues such as rising damp or poor building design. In order to address more complex mould issues effectively and to reduce the risk of mould returning after a clean-up or remediation it is essential that the cause of the damp issue is identified and addressed. This requires understanding of structures, considerations of the building history and occupant’s health, and knowledge of indoor moulds, appropriated inspection tools and testing methods.